Brooklyn dreamgazers No Swoon released their self-titled debut LP last month via Substitute Scene Records. Themes of isolation and unrest pervade No Swoon as each song grapples with the frustrations and loneliness of modern life. Composed of core duo Tasha Abbott (vocals, guitar) and Zack Nestel-Patt (synths), the band’s 9-track debut has them collaborating with Robi Gonzalez (drums) of This Will Destroy You and A Place to Bury Strangers. Last Sunday, the trio showcased the LP at Part Time Punks’ highly anticipated shoegaze show in LA’s Echoplex. The lineup included Sprain, Launder, and Nothing.

No Swoon started their set with lead single “Don’t Wake Up, Wake Up” — a feverish post-punk track turbulent enough to grab the attention of the nearly packed audience. The band won the crowd over with the best track of the evening, their latest single “Faces.” This especially entrancing song showcased the band’s ability to seamlessly weave shimmering soundscapes with steady beats, breathy vocals, and wailing guitar to create a hypnotic atmosphere. To bring their dazzling set to a smooth finish, No Swoon chose album closer “Soft Sounds” —  a slow-burning track both melancholic and hopeful. Listen to their debut LP here.

Follow No Swoon: